The Wellington Volunteer Fire Support Region

Our unit covers the area from Wellington's Eastern Suburbs all the way to Plimmerton. The unit is located within what is called the Arapawa region of the New Zealand Fire Service (the Arapawa Region extends from Wellington through to Taranaki on the west coast and across Hawkes Bay on the east).

As circumstances require, the unit is sometimes also required to assist within the Hutt Fire District to assist the Hutt / Wairarapa Fire Support unit.

Because the unit serves out of the Kilbirnie Fire Station, most members live within and are recruited from the Eastern Suburbs. This generally makes it easy to respond to callouts as required.